Shakespeare’s Play in Order

Shakespeare’s Plays in Order
With a couple of weeks of Austin Often commutes looming in front of me, I figured I would try to listen to all the plays, in sequential order, best guess.

1590-91 Henry VI, Part II
1590-91 Henry VI, Part III
1591-92 Henry VI, Part I
1592-93 Richard III
1592-93 Comedy of Errors
1593-94 Titus Andronicus
1593-94 Taming of the Shrew
1594-95 Two Gentlemen of Verona
1594-95 Love’s Labour’s Lost
1594-95 Romeo and Juliet
1595-96 Richard II
1595-96 A Midsummer Night’s Dream
1596-97 King John
1596-97 The Merchant of Venice
1597-98 Henry IV, Part I
1597-98 Henry IV, Part II
1598-99 Much Ado About Nothing
1598-99 Henry V
1599-1600 Julius Caesar
1599-1600 As You Like It
1599-1600 Twelfth Night
1600-01 Hamlet
1600-01 The Merry Wives of Windsor
1601-02 Troilus and Cressida
1602-03 All’s Well That Ends Well
1604-05 Measure for Measure
1604-05 Othello
1605-06 King Lear
1605-06 Macbeth
1606-07 Antony and Cleopatra
1607-08 Coriolanus
1607-08 Timon of Athens
1608-09 Pericles
1609-10 Cymbeline
1610-11 The Winter’s Tale
1611-12 The Tempest
1612-13 Henry VIII
1612-13 The Two Noble Kinsmen

    How to cite this article:
    Mabillard, Amanda. The Chronology of Shakespeare’s Plays. Shakespeare Online. 20 Aug. 2000.

Leads to for audio versions of the plays.

No idea how this turns out, but I’ve always wanted to see/hear/watch the entire canon. In keeping with that order? Spooled up, I’ve been listening to the Shakespeare (Oxford, Prof. Emma Smith) lectures on iTunes U. As an addendum, after the lecture about Comedy Errors, I listened to play. As noted elsewhere, perfect for Austin’s traffic.

Digging around, I found all three of Henry 6, the earliest of
Shakespeare’s “histories.” I’m unsure if I can do this the whole way through, but it might be terribly enlightening.

Austin – Often

Next post:

Previous post:

Comments on this entry are closed.